Spring Rolls pt1: Spinach, smoked cheese and jalapeno

I love spring rolls, I also like making them. I mastered this activity in England, when sometimes I had to make a few hundred weekly. So I guess I had my chance to practice:) Now when it comes to spring roll pastry, it`s easy to use, untill you follow a couple of easy steps, after you shouldn`t have any problems with rolling your own:) What I like about it the most is, you can fill it with whatever you want, it can be vegetarian, or sweet, or meat, or even seafood, any spice, or cheese goes well with it. It`s really up to your own creativity what you make out of it!

And again, spinach is in season, and I`m already a bit addicted to it, and thought it would be good in my spring rolls. I wanted to add some extra flavour to it thou, when I found the smoked cheese in the fridge, it would give a nice thick and rich flavour I thought. But something was missing, I’ve been thinking about adding some chilly, but that would have been way too hot, especially if someone bites on it. I still had some jalapeno left over, and slicing it into small cubes would do the trick. The filling recipe is very easy, there’s few things you need to watch out for thou. Here are the crucial points:


  1. Get rid of as much excess water from the spinach as possible
  2. Make a thick filling mix
  3. The spring roll pastry dries out very fast, so ALWAYS cover after opening, with a clean cloth. You can also sprinkle some water on the cloth, but make sure don`t make it too wet, that also damages the pastry!
  4. When filling and rolling the pastry, make sure you do it tightly, otherwise it`s going to open, or blow up while frying.
  5. In case you storing it in fridge, never put foil on top. It sweats, and damages the pastry, just leave it open on a tray, you can put some baking paper under it.
  6. Always fill with ready to eat ingredients, fry in very hot oil.

Ingredients (for 10 spring rolls)

10 sheets of spring rolls pastry, defrosted, separated. Only separate as much as you need, the leftovers, cover in foil and put it in fridge.

2 cloves of garlic

300 g fresh spinach leafs, washed

200 g smoked cheese grated

150 g jalapeno peppers, chopped.

white from 1 egg

salt, pepper.


In a frying pan, fry the spinach leafs with garlic salt and pepper, over a bit of  oil. When ready put in a colinder, and try to push out as much liquid as possible.

Transfer in a bowl, and mix with cheese and jalapeno.

With your hands fold your mix into 10 individual batches, about 5 cm long rolls.

Put down 1 pastry, 1 angle facing you and brush the sides, with egg white, using a pastry brush. Dont put too much egg white.

Take one of your batches, put it down, to the angle facing you, fold the angle on it, firmly, start rolling up.

Stop before the middle, fold in the 2 angles, put some more egg white, and firmly start rolling to the top.

Fry in hot oil!

Enjoy!

 

14 Responses to “Spring Rolls pt1: Spinach, smoked cheese and jalapeno”

  1. Yum! i’d love to try this one! Thanks for reading our blog!

  2. Oh neat, now these are some unique spring rolls. The ones that I make are the traditional deep fried meat stuff, these have spinach?! Your presentation is pretty ;] It makes the deep fried things look so delicate.

  3. I love springrolls!
    Thanks for commenting on my blog – lucky me, because this way I found your blog! These springrolls really look delicious and I surely will try the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I just made some pork and cole slaw egg rolls – I would love to make your version though!

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2011/08/21/home-stretch-for-101-days-of-summer-and-easy-pork-egg-rolls/

  5. Wow, those look great. I really like the sound of the combination of filling ingredients that you use. Yum!

  6. These look amazing. Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe. I can’t wait to try it.

  7. Because I’m a busy, single person I like to make food ahead of time and freeze it. Do you think these would work well as a freezer recipe?

    • Hey there. Unfortunately, I doubt it`s going to work frozen, the problem is, the pastry will get wet while in the freezer, and will explode in the oil. But in case you have a chance to pick from different pastry sheets, ask the sales person if those are maybe thicker, or can be frozen. Good luck! I hope u find one..:)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

