Recipe: Fried pancakes stuffed with spinach and camembert cheese!

So here I am back on fried food again. Well, I must admit vegetarian fried goodness are one of the things I`m really good at, so I`ll I guess I need to stick to my “roots” As well as the idea of a stuffed deep fired pancake came from my “roots”..hungarian roots! Pancakes are big in Hungary, they are like the french crepes, but they are smaller, and everybody`s favourite! Sometimes households don`t even exist without them. Especially when they are stuffed with grandma`s home made apricot jam, or sweet cottage cheese mix.

The idea of deep fried pancakes are unfortunately not mine. I started to like them when I remember, was still in elementary school and one of the local, deep-frost food company started to sell them (with cheese, or ham, or mushroom) . They became popular pretty fast, and almost all of the take away foodshops sold them. But for some strange reason, they disappeared, even thou people like them a lot.

Of course I wanted to come up with a very gourmet filling, and something not as usual as ham and cheese or mushroom. Originally the recipe would have been with gorgonzola, of course that day we were out of it! Typical! 🙂 Anyway, I thought camembert would do, I wanted to use dried cranberries with it, but again I thought the combination would be a bit too obvious, when I realised, I have some spinach leftover within my mise en place. Well it did sound interesting enough for me to try!

The result was beyond surprising, the 2 ingredients work amazing together, as the camembert cheese melts, and unites with the spinach. They just melt in your mouth, and you can`t wait for an other bite. I found that 2 pieces is pretty much a complete meal, I wold only recommend some lettuce OR 2 half of grilled tomato with it! (In the service time the grilled tomato appeared by “surprise” and turned out to be a perfect company with the crepes!)

Ingredients for 4 people

8-10 pieces of crepes (egg, flour, milk or soda, salt, NO SUGAR! this time)

2 packs of round camembert cheese. ( You really only need the cheapest one from the supermarket, don`t waste expensive good cheese on deep-frying)

half a kg. of fresh spinach (well washed, chopped)

3 cloves of garlic

batter: flour, egg wash, breadcrumbs

Slice up the camembert, into thin slices –  1 pancake can hold 1 or max 2 slices of cheese. Fry the spinach on hot oil with the chopped garlic, add salt and white pepper. Try and get rid of as much liquid as possible.

Fill the crepes – don`t overfill! If you have some spinach leftover, better to put it in the freezer. If you overfill the crepes, they are going to break.

Fold the crepes, first fold in the 2 sides, and then fold up in 3 from the bottom to the top.  You should het a nice cylinder shape.

Batter and deep fry!

Enjoy!

One Trackback to “Recipe: Fried pancakes stuffed with spinach and camembert cheese!”

Leave a Reply

